Undo/Redo

michael's Avatar

michael

16 Sep, 2016 12:14 PM

Hello, I am experiencing the same issue that Thyago reported in this bug report on 5 May 2016: http://support.cocoatech.com/discussions/problems/39464-undo-redo

When I use Undo in Path Finder, sometimes it doesn't Undo what I was expecting it to (because I had the wrong expectations, not because of a bug in Path Finder). In that case, I wonder "oh no, what did it undo?", and I try to hit Redo. But Redo is always greyed out.

I'm using Path Finder v7.3.3 (1700) on Mac OS X 10.11.6.

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 18 Sep, 2016 07:08 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Michael,

    Could you send us a sample (a snapshot) of Path Finder process in a separate file - this will enable us to analyze what happens with the application. Here's how to get it:

    1. Open Path Finder and reproduce the problem.
    2. Open Activity Monitor from the /Applications/Utilities folder.
    3. Select Path Finder in the process list. To help making a selection, type "Path Finder" in the Filter field.
    4. Click the Sample Process button in the toolbar - this will open a new window entitled "Sample of Path Finder" and a sample of the process is collected.
    5. Click Save and save the sample file.
    6. Close (Command-W) the Sample window opened in step 2.
    7. Send the sample file saved in step 5 to us.

    Looking forward to your reply to provide you with further assistance.

    Best Regards,
    Eugene
    Path Finder Support Team

  2. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 18 Sep, 2016 07:08 PM.

  3. michael re-opened this discussion on 18 Sep, 2016 09:52 PM

  4. 2 Posted by michael on 18 Sep, 2016 09:52 PM

    michael's Avatar

    Hello Eugene, I've attached the sample you requested here.

    (After I created a blank text file on my desktop, deleted it, hit Undo
    to restore it, and saw that the "Redo" button under Edit was greyed
    out.)

    Thanks for your help,
    Michael

  5. Support Staff 3 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 19 Sep, 2016 02:27 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Michael,

    Thank you for logs! Before escalating your issue to developers, may I kindly ask you if you experience the same behaviour in Finder?
    I tried to reproduce it at my end and Finder seems to have the same bug. 

    Thanks!

    Best Regards,
    Eugene
    Path Finder Support Team

  6. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 19 Sep, 2016 02:27 PM.

  7. michael re-opened this discussion on 20 Sep, 2016 01:47 PM

  8. 4 Posted by michael on 20 Sep, 2016 01:47 PM

    michael's Avatar

    Hi Eugene,

    I don't encounter the same bug in Finder. For example, in Finder I was
    able to copy a file to my Desktop, Undo the copy, then Redo the copy.
    In Path Finder, I could copy the same file to my Desktop, Undo it, but
    then I could not Redo it: redo was greyed out.

    Thanks,
    Michael

  9. Support Staff 5 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 21 Sep, 2016 09:47 AM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Michael,

    Please accept my apologies it takes so long to resolve the issue, but could you, please, send us a screen recording so that we could see the issue in more details?

    Thanks for your cooperation! :)

    Best Regards,
    Eugene
    Path Finder Support Team

  10. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 21 Sep, 2016 09:47 AM.

  11. michael re-opened this discussion on 09 Oct, 2016 08:36 PM

  12. 6 Posted by michael on 09 Oct, 2016 08:36 PM

    michael's Avatar

    Hi Euegene and colleagues,

    Could you confirm whether this bug/support ticket is still open and
    being looked at? I didn't hear anything back since sending in the
    screen recording.

    Thanks, and best wishes,
    Michael

  13. Support Staff 7 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 10 Oct, 2016 12:51 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Michael,

    Unfortunately, we have not received your video. 

    Could you please create a short screen video capture of the problem, and attach it to your reply? Our servers have a 10MB upload limit, so if the file is too big, you could either export it at a lower resolution (480p), or use a service like DropBox/Google Drive to send me a link.

    Thank you!

    Please feel free to write us back and we will be happy to assist you.

    Best Regards,
    Eugene
    Path Finder Support Team

  14. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 10 Oct, 2016 12:51 PM.

  15. michael re-opened this discussion on 10 Oct, 2016 01:16 PM

  16. 8 Posted by michael on 10 Oct, 2016 01:16 PM

    michael's Avatar

    Hi Eugene,

    I had previously attached it to an email as a 5.3MB file. But here it is
    as a FileDrop link:

    https://oasis.sandstorm.io/shared/5ByZzwA5JiDCL-g4H4Sq1HImTB6EQ298qQ8PZQ_l40X

    Let me know whether this link works successfully?

    Thanks, and best regards,
    Michael

  17. 9 Posted by michael on 17 Oct, 2016 01:18 AM

    michael's Avatar

    Hi Eugene, were you able to download the screen capture video from the
    link I sent?

    Best regards,
    Michael

  18. Support Staff 10 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 20 Oct, 2016 07:28 AM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Michael,

    I have forwarded your email to our developers. It may take some time to investigate the details of the issue.
    Once we do, we will get back to you.
    Thank you for your patience.

    
Best Regards,
 Eugene
    Path Finder Support Team

  19. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 20 Oct, 2016 07:28 AM.

  20. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 20 Oct, 2016 07:29 AM

  21. 11 Posted by michael on 21 Oct, 2016 05:33 PM

    michael's Avatar

    Thanks Eugene, I'll follow up in a few weeks if I don't hear anything by
    then.

    Best,
    Michael

  22. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 22 Oct, 2016 09:29 AM.

  23. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 22 Oct, 2016 09:30 AM

  24. 12 Posted by michael on 05 Dec, 2016 04:22 AM

    michael's Avatar

    Hello! I'm just checking in to see if you have any news from the
    developers about a timeline for this bug getting fixed?

    Thanks,
    Michael

  25. Support Staff 13 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 05 Dec, 2016 07:03 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Michael, 

    Thanks for your email!

    Our developer is already aware of the issue and will fix it as soon as possible. He has been assigned to this discussion.

    Thank you for cooperation, and please accept my apologies it takes so long to resolve the issue.

    Meanwhile, please feel free to write us back and we will be happy to assist you.

    Best Regards, 
    Diana
    Path Finder Support Team

  26. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 05 Dec, 2016 07:03 PM.

  27. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 05 Dec, 2016 07:25 PM

  28. 14 Posted by michael on 06 Dec, 2016 04:47 AM

    michael's Avatar

    Thanks for the update, Diana!

  29. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 06 Dec, 2016 07:43 AM.

  30. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 06 Dec, 2016 07:43 AM

  31. 15 Posted by Jakub on 01 Feb, 2017 03:51 PM

    Jakub's Avatar

    I'm experiencing exactly the same issue in Path Finder 7.4.1 (macOS Sierra 10.12.3).

  32. 16 Posted by michael on 01 Feb, 2017 03:58 PM

    michael's Avatar

    After four months of waiting since I first filed this bug, I've
    uninstalled Path Finder for the moment. I can't use a file manager where
    I can't trust the Undo/Redo feature, because sometimes I have literally
    no idea what has been undone.

    Any update on the progress?

  33. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 02 Feb, 2017 07:17 AM.

  34. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 02 Feb, 2017 07:20 AM

  35. Support Staff 17 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 02 Feb, 2017 07:20 AM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Michael,

    I apologies it takes so long to resolve the issue.

    Our developer is working on the solution.

    Please feel free to write us back and we will be happy to assist you.

    Best Regards,
    Diana
    Path Finder Support Team

  36. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 02 Feb, 2017 07:20 AM.

  37. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 02 Feb, 2017 07:28 AM

  38. 18 Posted by michael on 22 Mar, 2017 03:54 AM

    michael's Avatar

    Hi Diana,

    I understand the developer has been working on this bug. So I'm writing
    to check if it's been fixed and if Undo/Redo is working properly in Path
    Finder yet.

    Thanks for all your help with this,
    Michael

  39. Support Staff 19 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 23 Mar, 2017 05:07 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Michael,

    Thank you for your email!

    I completely understand your frustration.

    We're planning to fix this bug as well as many others in the Path Finder 8. We had a session with the developers recently, I can tell that there will be no major updates until the release of the 8th version. It's scheduled for October-November period.

    Sorry for the inconvenience.

    Please feel free to write us back and we will be happy to assist you.

    Best Regards,
    Diana
    Path Finder Support Team

  40. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 23 Mar, 2017 05:07 PM.

  41. michael re-opened this discussion on 23 Mar, 2017 05:45 PM

  42. 20 Posted by michael on 23 Mar, 2017 05:45 PM

    michael's Avatar

    Hi Diana,

    I'd like a refund of my Path Finder license. I stopped using Path Finder
    months ago after losing track of files a few too many times, because a
    file manager that doesn't correctly Undo / Redo is not usable. And a 12
    month release cycle for small but significant bugs isn't workable for
    me.

    If you'd like to correspond off-list to arrange the refund, I think you
    have access to my email.

    Michael

  43. Support Staff 21 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 24 Mar, 2017 06:57 AM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Michael,

    We will need the email address you used to purchase Path Finder, but note, that you are eligible for a refund only within 30-days period after purchase.

    Please feel free to write us back and we will be happy to assist you.

    Best Regards,
    Diana
    Path Finder Support Team

  44. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 24 Mar, 2017 06:57 AM.

  45. michael re-opened this discussion on 24 Mar, 2017 11:06 AM

  46. 22 Posted by michael on 24 Mar, 2017 11:06 AM

    michael's Avatar

    Hi Diana,

    I purchased Path Finder in August 2016. In September 2016 I realized
    that Undo/Redo doesn't work, and reported this bug (you can scroll all
    the way up to the top of this thread to verify). I've stopped using Path
    Finder software, because it is unusable when I can't reliably Undo/Redo
    and therefore lose track of my files.

    In March 2017 you're telling me that it won't be fixed and become usable
    until Path Finder 8 is released. Which is currently scheduled for
    October/November 2017, more than 12 months after I first reported the
    bug. And that doesn't fix Path Finder 7, which is what I have a license
    for. Your team never plans to fix Path Finder 7.

    I purchased an unusable product, and I would like you to refund my
    license. I've missed the 1 month window that's typical for refunds, but
    your team has missed the couple month window that's typical for fixing
    terrible bugs in paid software.

    Thanks,
    Michael

  47. Support Staff 23 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 24 Mar, 2017 11:34 AM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Michael,

    Unfortunately, as you have purchased the app in August 2016, you are not eligible for a refund according to our policy.

    Please feel free to write us back and we will be happy to assist you.

    Best Regards,
    Diana
    Path Finder Support Team

  48. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 24 Mar, 2017 11:34 AM.

  49. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 24 Mar, 2017 11:34 AM

  50. 24 Posted by michael on 24 Mar, 2017 12:05 PM

    michael's Avatar

    Got it. You can be certain I won't be purchasing Path Finder 8 to obtain
    the fixes to this bug.

  51. Support Staff 25 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 24 Mar, 2017 03:30 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Michael,

    Thanks for your email.

    I completely understand your frustration, sorry for this bad experience.

    Please write us back after the release of Path Finder 8 and we will surely issue a free license for you.

    Sorry again. Thank you and have a nice day!

    Best Regards,
    Diana
    Path Finder Support Team

  52. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 24 Mar, 2017 03:30 PM.

  53. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 24 Mar, 2017 03:44 PM

  54. 26 Posted by Darius Jankausk... on 14 Jan, 2020 07:57 AM

    Darius Jankauskas's Avatar

    3 years later still no Redo functionality :(
    Version 9.0.6 (2027)

Reply to this discussion

Internal reply

Formatting help / Preview (switch to plain text) No formatting (switch to Markdown)

Attaching KB article:

»

Attached Files

You can attach files up to 10MB

If you don't have an account yet, we need to confirm you're human and not a machine trying to post spam.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac