Bottom shelf in Path Finder 8 with Default Folder

tatami

30 Mar, 2019 06:50 AM

I'm guessing that I'm not alone in using Default Folder as well as Path Finder. Recently I noticed in Default Folder's General Preferences tab an option to "Add drawer button to Finder toolbars." Like others, I've been missing the sliding drawer function of Path FInder 7 so I wondered whether the Default Folder drawer could be made work with Path Finder 8 – almost as a proof of concept. So I got in contact with St Clair Software and they sent me the following instructions:

1. Locate Default Folder X in your Applications folder.
  2. Control-click on the Default Folder X application and choose "Show package contents" from the contextual menu.
  3. Within the application package, navigate to the Contents folder, then to the Resources folder.
  4. Locate the DFX application and the DFX Drawer application in that folder. Drag each one to Path Finder's toolbar.

I'm no programmer, but this suggests to me that it should be possible to reinstate sliding drawers in Path Finder 8.

1. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 30 Mar, 2019 12:58 PM.

2. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 30 Mar, 2019 12:58 PM

3. 1 Posted by JMichaelTX on 30 Mar, 2019 03:39 PM

it should be possible to reinstate [Default Folder X] sliding drawers in Path Finder 8.

I too would very much like this feature.

4. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 31 Mar, 2019 07:44 AM.

5. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 31 Mar, 2019 07:45 AM

6. 2 Posted by dhnyny on 01 Apr, 2019 12:22 PM