Preview in column view

ddancomp's Avatar

ddancomp

20 Apr, 2012 09:04 AM

My preferred browser view is column view, with the preview column. In version 5, when I clicked on an item to get the preview, the whole main column remained visible. In version 6, the left side of the column contents slides away to the left so that one cannot read the file names properly. This is most inconvenient, unless I have just set something wrong. If my description is not clear, I can always add screenshots. I am currently using 10.6.8

On a positive note, it's nice to have the Launch as Root option. I currently use Pseudo to launch as root when I need to, but Pseudo won't work if I move to Lion, so I am glad it is no longer needed.

By the way, a forum issue. Perhaps because this is my first login on the forum, though I am shown as logged in, I still got asked to fill in the captcha.

  1. 1 Posted by Michael on 25 Apr, 2012 06:49 PM

    Michael's Avatar

    Screenshots would be helpful, I'm not quite certain what you're describing.

  2. 2 Posted by ddancomp on 25 Apr, 2012 09:11 PM

    ddancomp's Avatar

    OK, here are three screenshots.

    One (selected place) shows what I get when I just click on a place
    (Applications) in the sidebar.

    Selected files v5 shows what I get when I then click on an item (Drag
    Thing) in the column using version 5 of PF, while Selected files v6.

    See the difference. In v5 the whole column appears, so one can read the
    names of items with no trouble, whereas in v6 only the right portion of
    the column is visible so reading the names is tricky. I find this really
    awkward, involving extra mouse clicks much of the time.

    It's not unlikely that there is simply a setting I need to adjust that's
    new. I can say that the change occurred as soon as I moved to v6, so
    something did not carry over, it's not a change I made.

    Hope the attachments come OK, this is the first time I have attached
    files in this mail program (used to use Eudora, but it has become too
    flaky, and I am now using Postbox).

    Had I mentioned that I am on OS 10.6.8.
    > Michael
    > <mailto:[email blocked]>
    > 25 April 2012 19:49

  3. 3 Posted by Damazio on 26 Apr, 2012 01:55 AM

    Damazio's Avatar

    In v5, your columns are narrower than in v6 so it's not a fair comparison.
    If you work with such narrow panes, you have to narrow the columns width to see 2 columns at the same time, plain and simple.

  4. 4 Posted by ddancomp on 26 Apr, 2012 06:08 AM

    ddancomp's Avatar

    Yes, but that was because I enlarged the columns in version 6 AFTER
    finding this effect as soon as I upgraded. I was quite happy with the
    way things looked in v5 and only made changes in column size to see if I
    could get things back to how they were.

    I had realised that the answer could be as simple as changing column
    size, but I tried several times before posting with no success. However
    I have tried again, and after adjusting both wider and narrower seem to
    have got a setting that does work OK.

    I do think there is a subtle change in the way columns behave between
    the two versions, but since it is a bit hard to describe and all appears
    to be working OK at present, I won't bother you unless I have more problems.

    Damazio wrote:
    >
    > // Add your reply above here
    > ==================================================
    > From: Damazio
    > Subject: Preview in column view
    >
    > In v5, your columns are narrower than in v6 so it's not a fair comparison.
    > If you work with such narrow panes, you have to narrow the columns
    > width to see 2 columns at the same time, plain and simple.
    >
    > View this Discussion online:
    > http://support.cocoatech.com/discussions/problems/1240-preview-in-column-view
    > --
    >
    > To unsubscribe and stop receiving emails from
    > http://support.cocoatech.com, visit
    > http://support.cocoatech.com/unsubscribe/a9692b8043da598075ef8367109c3304bf18965b

    > Damazio
    > <mailto:[email blocked]>
    > 26 April 2012 02:55
    > // Add your reply above here
    > ==================================================
    > From: Damazio
    > Subject: Preview in column view
    >
    > In v5, your columns are narrower than in v6 so it's not a fair comparison.
    > If you work with such narrow panes, you have to narrow the columns
    > width to see 2 columns at the same time, plain and simple.
    >
    > View this Discussion online:
    > http://support.cocoatech.com/discussions/problems/1240-preview-in-column-view
    > --
    >
    > To unsubscribe and stop receiving emails from
    > http://support.cocoatech.com, visit
    > http://support.cocoatech.com/unsubscribe/a9692b8043da598075ef8367109c3304bf18965b
    >
    > Michael
    > <mailto:[email blocked]>
    > 25 April 2012 19:49

  5. 5 Posted by ddancomp on 26 Apr, 2012 10:02 AM

    ddancomp's Avatar

    Interested to learn (from another discussion) that one can run both version 5 and version 6 at the same time, as this can help in trouble-shooting.

    Where are the column size settings kept? I THOUGHT (but could be wrong, as it is a few days ago) that I preserved the settings between versions 5 and 6 but still got the different behaviour I mentioned. I would like to check a bit further,but also be able to revert to previous column sizes as I may want to.

  6. 6 Posted by Damazio on 06 May, 2012 02:15 AM

    Damazio's Avatar

    Try to go to View > Show View Options and enable Auto resize columns.

  7. Damazio closed this discussion on 06 May, 2012 02:15 AM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac