Delete button now bypasses the Trash

Andy Todd's Avatar

Andy Todd

08 Feb, 2013 01:00 AM

I have the delete button on my toolbar and use it all the time. Recently (in the last day or so?) when I press it I get a pop-up saying "WARNING! This action bypasses the Trash. You cannot undo this action."

Is there a setting to control this? Or is it a system preference that I have unknowingly changed that effects the behaviour of the delete button?

  1. 1 Posted by Lynsey on 09 Feb, 2013 04:13 AM

    Lynsey's Avatar

    I noticed this as well. I customized my toolbar to replace the "Delete" button with the "Move to Trash" button (is this new?). That seemed to do the trick, preventing the message and moving the file to the Trash.

    Good luck!

  2. 2 Posted by Andy Todd on 09 Feb, 2013 09:43 PM

    Andy Todd's Avatar

    Thanks Lynsey, I've done that now.

  3. 3 Posted by Cocoatech on 13 Feb, 2013 04:46 AM

    Cocoatech's Avatar

    Hi Andy,

    Lynsey is correct. Move to Trash and Delete are two separate interactions. Delete bypasses the trash, while Move to Trash places the item in the normal Trash can.

    -Danny

  4. Cocoatech closed this discussion on 13 Feb, 2013 04:46 AM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac