PF8 previews

Cooper's Avatar

Cooper

13 Jun, 2018 12:09 AM

Previews for Photoshop (.psd) and Digital Neg (.dng) files are really, really slow to show compared to PF7.
Any reason why?

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 13 Jun, 2018 04:35 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi, 

    How fast it the preview in Finder? 
    What exactly happens when it loads the preview? 

    Looking forward to your reply. 

    Best Regards,
    Jordan 
    Path Finder Support Team

  2. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 13 Jun, 2018 04:35 PM.

  3. mrjwbr re-opened this discussion on 22 Jun, 2018 03:56 AM

  4. 2 Posted by mrjwbr on 22 Jun, 2018 03:56 AM

    mrjwbr's Avatar

    Hi Jordan

    I never use the Finder so I never knew the speed of rendering DNG previews there.
    I just went to the Finder and I was surprised to find the rendering was the same speed there as in PF8.
    What really confuses me is in PF7 the rendering is almost instantaneous. Which is what I’m very used to and gave me the idea to comment.
    So what did PF7 have undertake hood that would allow this that PF8 does not?

    If it matters I’m using El Capitan but the rendering was fast in all the other OS versions before that as well.

    I hope you can figure out how to make PF8 the same speed as PF7 since I use DNG files all the time.

    Thanks a lot,

    John

  5. 3 Posted by sascha.petrovsk... on 11 Apr, 2019 11:16 AM

    sascha.petrovski's Avatar

    Hi,

    i have the same problem with JPG / CR2 images and Pathfinder 8.3.9.
    Finder requires less than 0,5 sec. to preview a 30MB CR2 RAW Image, with Pathfinder it is around 4-5 sec.

    It doesn't matter if i use the preview pane or space for a big preview, it took to long and is unusable.

    I hope you find a solution for that.

    Thanks
    Sascha

  6. Support Staff 4 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 11 Apr, 2019 05:31 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Cooper,

    Does it slow down just the preview module or the entire Path Finder window/app?

    Please follow the instruction and check if the issue still persists: 

    1. Make sure that Path Finder is located in the Applications folder
      (in case you are using macOS Mojave) Use System Preferences > Security & Privacy > grant Full Disk Access to Path Finder

    2. Open your terminal and paste the following command to check if Path Finder has been slapped with the quarantined extended attribute:
      xattr /Applications/"Path Finder.app"

    3. If you see com.apple.quarantine returned as output from that last command, then go ahead and run this next command:
      xattr -d com.apple.quarantine /Applications/"Path Finder.app"

    You won't get any feedback or output from that command, but that's okay because you can just run the first command again to see for yourself if the com.apple.quarantine attribute shows up again. It shouldn't, and now Path Finder is freed from Apple quarantine jail. Restart your PathFinder now. 

    Don't hesitate to contact us should any questions arise. 

    Best Regards,
    Jordan
    Path Finder Support Team 

  7. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 11 Apr, 2019 05:31 PM.

  8. sascha.petrovski re-opened this discussion on 12 Apr, 2019 06:57 AM

  9. 5 Posted by sascha.petrovsk... on 12 Apr, 2019 06:57 AM

    sascha.petrovski's Avatar

    i also done this, but no change to the performance of the preview.
    Pathfinder itself runs ok, can be a bit faster...

  10. Support Staff 6 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 12 Apr, 2019 01:45 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Cooper, 

    Does this happen with any large image file? 

    Could you send us a sample (a snapshot) of PathFinder process in a separate file - this will enable us to analyze what happens with the application. Here's how to get it:

    1. Open Path Finder and reproduce the problem.
    2. Open Activity Monitor from the /Applications/Utilities folder.
    3. Select Path Finder in the process list. To help making a selection, type "Path Finder" in the Filter field.
    4. Click the Sample Process button in the toolbar - this will open a new window entitled "Sample of Path Finder" and a sample of the process is collected.
    5. Click Save and save the sample file.
    6. Close (Command-W) the Sample window opened in step 2.
    7. Send the sample file saved in step 5 to us.

    Looking forward to your reply.

    Best Regards,
    Jordan
    Path Finder Support Team

  11. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 12 Apr, 2019 01:45 PM.

  12. sascha.petrovski re-opened this discussion on 17 Apr, 2019 08:54 AM

  13. 7 Posted by sascha.petrovsk... on 17 Apr, 2019 08:54 AM

    sascha.petrovski's Avatar

    Mit freundlichen Grüßen

    Sascha Petrovski
    Straßburger Strasse 17
    65428 Rüsselsheim

    tel.: +49 (0) 6142 - 16 16 48
    mobil: +49 (0) 151 120 55 921

    mailto:[email blocked]

    Am 12.04.2019 um 15:45 schrieb Path Finder Support Team <[email blocked]>:

    From: Path Finder Support Team (Cocoatech Support)
    Subject: PF8 previews

    Hi Cooper,

    Does this happen with any large image file?

    Could you send us a sample (a snapshot) of PathFinder process in a separate file - this will enable us to analyze what happens with the application. Here's how to get it:

    1. Open Path Finder and reproduce the problem.
    2. Open Activity Monitor from the /Applications/Utilities folder.
    3. Select Path Finder in the process list. To help making a selection, type "Path Finder" in the Filter field.
    4. Click the Sample Process button in the toolbar - this will open a new window entitled "Sample of Path Finder" and a sample of the process is collected.
    5. Click Save and save the sample file.
    6. Close (Command-W) the Sample window opened in step 2.
    7. Send the sample file saved in step 5 to us.

    Looking forward to your reply.

    Best Regards,
    Jordan
    Path Finder Support Team

    View this discussion at our support site online: https://support.cocoatech.com/discussions/problems/104886-pf8-previews

    ---

    To unsubscribe and stop receiving emails from https://support.cocoatech.com, visit https://support.cocoatech.com/unsubscribe/f1f7893858c502a92ec2efc01271a230ec4d06d9

  14. 8 Posted by sascha.petrovsk... on 17 Apr, 2019 08:55 AM

    sascha.petrovski's Avatar

    Mit freundlichen Grüßen

    Sascha Petrovski
    Straßburger Strasse 17
    65428 Rüsselsheim

    tel.: +49 (0) 6142 - 16 16 48
    mobil: +49 (0) 151 120 55 921

    mailto:[email blocked]

    Am 12.04.2019 um 15:45 schrieb Path Finder Support Team <[email blocked]>:

    From: Path Finder Support Team (Cocoatech Support)
    Subject: PF8 previews

    Hi Cooper,

    Does this happen with any large image file?

    Could you send us a sample (a snapshot) of PathFinder process in a separate file - this will enable us to analyze what happens with the application. Here's how to get it:

    1. Open Path Finder and reproduce the problem.
    2. Open Activity Monitor from the /Applications/Utilities folder.
    3. Select Path Finder in the process list. To help making a selection, type "Path Finder" in the Filter field.
    4. Click the Sample Process button in the toolbar - this will open a new window entitled "Sample of Path Finder" and a sample of the process is collected.
    5. Click Save and save the sample file.
    6. Close (Command-W) the Sample window opened in step 2.
    7. Send the sample file saved in step 5 to us.

    Looking forward to your reply.

    Best Regards,
    Jordan
    Path Finder Support Team

    View this discussion at our support site online: https://support.cocoatech.com/discussions/problems/104886-pf8-previews

    ---

    To unsubscribe and stop receiving emails from https://support.cocoatech.com, visit https://support.cocoatech.com/unsubscribe/f1f7893858c502a92ec2efc01271a230ec4d06d9

  15. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 17 Apr, 2019 09:56 AM.

  16. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 17 Apr, 2019 09:57 AM

  17. Support Staff 9 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 17 Apr, 2019 09:57 AM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Sascha, 

    Thank you for the sample! 

    I have forwarded your email to our developers. It may take some time to investigate the details of the issue. 

    Be sure to let us know should any additional questions arise. 

    Best Regards, 
    Jordan
    Path Finder Support Team

  18. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 17 Apr, 2019 09:57 AM.

  19. Dragan re-opened this discussion on 29 Apr, 2019 10:19 PM

  20. Support Staff 10 Posted by Dragan on 29 Apr, 2019 10:19 PM

    Dragan's Avatar

    Hi Sascha and John,

    There were some changes with previews in PF8 in a way that some file types are now handled by build-in QuickLook preview, but seems it's not an ideal solution. Can I ask you for a favour… I'd really appreciate if you can provide a sample file, which previews quickly in PF7 but slowly in PF8, so I can test it myself and see what's going on there? I'd really appreciate that, as I don't use PS, nor am I dealing with RAW images, so I don't have anything to test it with.

    Thanks a lot for your patience, time and understanding.

  21. 11 Posted by mrjwbr on 29 Apr, 2019 10:55 PM

    mrjwbr's Avatar

    Hi Dragan

    I’m away from my work computer for a while but I’ll get you a file when I can have both 6 & 7 running to see what might be an image with issues. For me in general they have been DNG files, but I’ll send what I find.

    John

  22. Support Staff 12 Posted by Dragan on 29 Apr, 2019 10:59 PM

    Dragan's Avatar

    Hi John,

    Thanks a lot, waiting for a sample file 👍

  23. Dragan closed this discussion on 10 Jun, 2019 05:36 PM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac