More keyboard shortcuts please

sebastien.barre

28 Dec, 2012 01:25 AM

Hi.
I've been using a Mac for about 6 months, and one of my first goal when I started was to find a file manager that could be as close to Total Commander on Windows. I've probably 15+ years of muscle memory invested in Total Commander, and it has saved me a tremendous amount of time, I could go on for hours without using a mouse pretty much. I'm using both PC and Mac and I'd love to use the same shortcuts on either OS. So, with that being said I was using a competitor, Forklift 2, for the past 6 months, which provides great keyboard customization. Alas, it has only been updated once in the past 6 months, and barely any features were added. I rely heavily on "Find in Files..." and there is just no way to find a file by searching for a string in its contents in Forkflift.

Which brings me to Path Finder, which has a great "Find..." command, but I'd really love to have more shortcuts so that I don't have to use my mouse or trackpad. More specifically, I was wondering if you could consider this one day:

• be able to toggle the selection using a shortcut, selecting/deselecting one file, then another not necessarily contiguous, from the keyboard (ideally the Space key). This one would be really great to build a selection without having to use the mouse (i.e. without Shift or Command + click), though I admit this would require changing the selection model, because you can't move the cursor to a different file when there is a selection right now (other file managers display the selected files in red text for example).

• be able to assign a different shortcut to "Quick Look" (F3 for example)

• be able to use the Delete key as a shortcut (used to go to the Enclosing Folder in Total Commander). Right now it is used to remove/blank a shortcut.