Preview problem

Camilla's Avatar

Camilla

06 Feb, 2018 02:47 PM

Again there is an issue with the Preview window. When I select a pdf file, the preview shows up in the preview pane but it's tiny. I choose "automatically resize" and it does, but then when I chose the next pdf file, it's tiny and I have to chose automatically resize again. I am using Sierra 10.12.6 and version 7.6.2. (1729) of Pathfinder.

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 06 Feb, 2018 08:16 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Camilla, 

    Thank you for reporting this!

    It's a known issue, it has already been forwarded to our developers. 

    You can downgrade, if you wish, to PathFinder 7.4.1. It should work fine on this version. 
    Here's the link to the compatible version: https://www.dropbox.com/s/hw64ywf3fbafis2/PF_7.4.1_%281704%29.zip?dl=0
    We also recommend disabling the automatic update checker in Path Finder > Preferences > General. 
    Please note that this solution is compatible with Sierra (macOS 10.12) only. 

    If you decide to proceed, let us know how it goes. 
    Don't hesitate to contact us should any questions arise. 

    Best Regards, 
    Jordan
    Path Finder Support Team 

  2. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 06 Feb, 2018 08:16 PM.

  3. Camilla re-opened this discussion on 28 Feb, 2018 04:15 PM

  4. 2 Posted by Camilla on 28 Feb, 2018 04:15 PM

    Camilla's Avatar

    It didn't help to downgrade but I have to change my story a bit. The "automatically resize" do function on all files as long as I rest inside the folder or move to a folder above. But when I return to the down folder again the preset settings will be gone. The preview shows up again - tiny. Very irritating.

  5. Support Staff 3 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 01 Mar, 2018 07:48 AM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Camilla, 

    Please follow the instruction and check if the issue still persists: 

    1. Open your terminal and paste the following command to check if Path Finder has been slapped with the quarantined extended attribute:
      xattr /Applications/"Path Finder.app"

    2. If you see com.apple.quarantine returned as output from that last command, then go ahead and run this next command:
      xattr -d com.apple.quarantine /Applications/"Path Finder.app"

    You won't get any feedback or output from that command, but that's okay because you can just run the first command again to see for yourself if the com.apple.quarantine attribute shows up again. It shouldn't, and now Path Finder is freed from Apple quarantine jail. Restart your PathFinder now. 

    Let me know how it goes.

    Best Regards,
    Jordan
    Path Finder Support Team 

  6. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 01 Mar, 2018 07:48 AM.

  7. Camilla re-opened this discussion on 22 Mar, 2018 03:04 PM

  8. 4 Posted by Camilla on 22 Mar, 2018 03:04 PM

    Camilla's Avatar

    I did as you suggested but afterwards I had a empty sidebar instead (i wrote about it here) http://support.cocoatech.com/discussions/problems/93814-empty-sidebar.
    But I solved that so now I am back with a totally new PF7 7.6.2 (without any cashes) and the preview matter is different now.
    It's still the same problem if I chose "resize automatically". The setting will stay on inside the folder or folder above. But if I chose "real size" instead the setting will stay on for longer. On this setting I can't see a clear pattern on when the setting falls out. Maybe there is a RAM issue?
    It had been better if the default setting for the preview window hade been "automatically". Then I would have seen the .pdf as a preview and not as a thumbnail.
    I really hope you can fix this problem because PF's preview windows is the feature that make PF my choice of Finder alternative.

  9. 5 Posted by Camilla on 22 Mar, 2018 03:16 PM

    Camilla's Avatar

    I want to add something. When I say preview window I mean the one in a right or bottom sidebar (see image)
    So it's not the preview in the column view I have problems with because that one has "automatically" as default.

  10. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 22 Mar, 2018 03:43 PM.

  11. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 22 Mar, 2018 03:45 PM

  12. Support Staff 6 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 22 Mar, 2018 03:45 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Camilla,

    Thanks for the feedback and attaching the image. 

    As I mentioned above, it is, unfortunately, a known issue. 
    We've already reported it to our developers. They are currently working on a new version of PathFinder. 
    It's currently scheduled for the end of April. Chances are this issue will be fixed there. 

    Sorry for the temporary inconvenience. 
    Please feel free to write us back and we will be happy to assist you.

    Best Regards,
    Jordan
    Path Finder Support Team

  13. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 22 Mar, 2018 03:45 PM.

  14. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 22 Mar, 2018 03:45 PM

  15. 7 Posted by Tata on 27 May, 2018 01:20 PM

    Tata's Avatar

    Now, after upgrading to PF8 I can't find the setting for Preview below the folders/file list both in single and dual browser.

  16. Support Staff 8 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 28 May, 2018 02:14 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Camilla,

    Use Window > Modules and drag the Preview module into PathFinder.

    Please feel free to write us back and we will be happy to assist you.

    Best Regards,
    Jordan 
    Path Finder Support Team

  17. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 28 May, 2018 02:14 PM.

  18. CMSimple re-opened this discussion on 28 May, 2018 02:32 PM

  19. 9 Posted by CMSimple on 28 May, 2018 02:32 PM

    CMSimple's Avatar

    Thanks a lot, Camilla,
    In previous version I had separated preview modules for both columns (in dual browser). Now, there is only one that can be set for left/right or both columns. Is it possible to have it like in previous version?

    PaedDr. Martin Sereday
    Štúrova 2
    053 04 Spišské Podhradie
    SLOVAKIA
    +421 907 974 541
    www.cmsimple.sk <http://www.cmsimple.sk/> | Proroctvá hopiov <http://hopi.cmsimple.sk/>
     
     

    On 28/05/2018, 16:14, "Path Finder Support Team" <[email blocked]> wrote:

        From: Path Finder Support Team (Cocoatech Support)
        Subject: Preview problem
        
        Hi Camilla,
        
        Use Window > Modules and drag the Preview module into PathFinder.
        
        Please feel free to write us back and we will be happy to assist you.
        
        Best Regards,
        Jordan
        Path Finder Support Team
        
        
        
        
        
        View this discussion at our support site online: http://support.cocoatech.com/discussions/problems/90092-preview-problem
        
        ---
        
        Reply with #ignore to stop receiving notifications for this discussion.

  20. 10 Posted by CMSimple on 28 May, 2018 02:34 PM

    CMSimple's Avatar

    Sorry, in the previous mail should be "Hi, Jordan" (

    PaedDr. Martin Sereday
    Štúrova 2
    053 04 Spišské Podhradie
    SLOVAKIA
    +421 907 974 541
    www.cmsimple.sk <http://www.cmsimple.sk/> | Proroctvá hopiov <http://hopi.cmsimple.sk/>
     
     

    On 28/05/2018, 16:14, "Path Finder Support Team" <[email blocked]> wrote:

        From: Path Finder Support Team (Cocoatech Support)
        Subject: Preview problem
        
        Hi Camilla,
        
        Use Window > Modules and drag the Preview module into PathFinder.
        
        Please feel free to write us back and we will be happy to assist you.
        
        Best Regards,
        Jordan
        Path Finder Support Team
        
        
        
        
        
        View this discussion at our support site online: http://support.cocoatech.com/discussions/problems/90092-preview-problem
        
        ---
        
        Reply with #ignore to stop receiving notifications for this discussion.

  21. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 28 May, 2018 05:05 PM.

  22. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 28 May, 2018 05:07 PM

  23. Support Staff 11 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 28 May, 2018 05:07 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Camilla,

    Simply add 2 Preview windows (via Window > Modules) and assign them to different browser panes, this should help. 

    Please feel free to write us back and we will be happy to assist you.

    Best Regards,
    Jordan 
    Path Finder Support Team

  24. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 28 May, 2018 05:07 PM.

  25. CMSimple re-opened this discussion on 28 May, 2018 05:22 PM

  26. 12 Posted by CMSimple on 28 May, 2018 05:22 PM

    CMSimple's Avatar

    Well, that‘s what I did. But both preview modules take the full display width regardless which pane are they asigned to. So I have the sidebar in full height on the left, two browser panes and below them two preview modules of 2-panes width.

    Odoslané z iPhonu

    Dňa 28. 5. 2018 o 19:07 užívateľ Path Finder Support Team <[email blocked]> napísal:

    > From: Path Finder Support Team (Cocoatech Support)
    > Subject: Preview problem
    >
    > Hi Camilla,
    >
    > Simply add 2 Preview windows (via Window > Modules) and assign them to different browser panes, this should help.
    >
    > Please feel free to write us back and we will be happy to assist you.
    >
    > Best Regards,
    > Jordan
    > Path Finder Support Team
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > View this discussion at our support site online: http://support.cocoatech.com/discussions/problems/90092-preview-problem
    >
    > ---
    >
    > Reply with #ignore to stop receiving notifications for this discussion.
    >
    >

  27. Support Staff 13 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 28 May, 2018 05:40 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Camilla,

    Could you please attach a screenshot? 
    Are you unable to assign them to particular panes? 

    Looking forward to your reply. 

    Best Regards,
    Jordan 
    Path Finder Support Team

  28. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 28 May, 2018 05:40 PM.

  29. CMSimple re-opened this discussion on 28 May, 2018 07:00 PM

  30. 14 Posted by CMSimple on 28 May, 2018 07:00 PM

    CMSimple's Avatar

    Ah, now I managed it. The trick is to move the second module very carefully and slowly to desired position.

    Thanks a lot.

    PaedDr. Martin Sereday
    Štúrova 2
    053 04 Spišské Podhradie
    SLOVAKIA
    +421 907 974 541
    www.cmsimple.sk <http://www.cmsimple.sk/> | Proroctvá hopiov <http://hopi.cmsimple.sk/>
     
     

    On 28/05/2018, 19:40, "Path Finder Support Team" <[email blocked]> wrote:

        From: Path Finder Support Team (Cocoatech Support)
        Subject: Preview problem
        
        Hi Camilla,
        
        Could you please attach a screenshot?
        Are you unable to assign them to particular panes?
        
        Looking forward to your reply.
        
        Best Regards,
        Jordan
        Path Finder Support Team
        
        
        
        
        
        View this discussion at our support site online: http://support.cocoatech.com/discussions/problems/90092-preview-problem
        
        ---
        
        Reply with #ignore to stop receiving notifications for this discussion.

  31. Support Staff 15 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 30 May, 2018 01:45 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi Camilla,

    Glad to hear that you've worked that out! Please make sure to write us back should any further questions arise.

    Best Regards,
    Jordan
    Path Finder Support Team

  32. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 30 May, 2018 01:45 PM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac