'Preview' sidebar module causes PF to freeze with media files

james's Avatar

james

04 Jan, 2018 04:27 PM

Hi

Since upgrading to OSX 10.13.2 and PF 7.6.2 (1729) - when I select a media file (eg .mp3, .mp4, .m4a etc) the shelf preview pane shows a loading icon then PF freezes.

Restarting PF sorts it but far from ideal.

Cheers

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 04 Jan, 2018 04:54 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi James, 

    Thanks for reaching out! 

    Please follow the instruction and check if the issue still persists: 

    1. Open your terminal and paste the following command to check if Path Finder has been slapped with the quarantined extended attribute:
      xattr /Applications/"Path Finder.app"

    2. If you see com.apple.quarantine returned as output from that last command, then go ahead and run this next command:
      xattr -d com.apple.quarantine /Applications/"Path Finder.app"

    You won't get any feedback or output from that command, but that's okay because you can just run the first command again to see for yourself if the com.apple.quarantine attribute shows up again. It shouldn't, and now Path Finder is freed from Apple quarantine jail. Restart your PathFinder now. 

    Let me know how it goes.

    Best Regards,
    Jordan
    Path Finder Support Team 

  2. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 04 Jan, 2018 04:54 PM.

  3. james re-opened this discussion on 05 Jan, 2018 07:44 AM

  4. 2 Posted by james on 05 Jan, 2018 07:44 AM

    james's Avatar

    Jordan

    I didn't get any output from running step 1.

    Tried step 2 anyway and got message saying xattr: /Applications/Path Finder.app: No such xattr: com.apple.quarantine.

    So no change... :(

  5. Support Staff 3 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 05 Jan, 2018 03:05 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi James, 

    I see, thanks for checking that. 

    May I ask you to follow this instruction and check if the issue still persists: 

    1. Delete Path Finder and its traces according to the article: 
      http://support.cocoatech.com/kb/installation-and-compatibility/how-...
    2. Download the latest version of the app from our site
    3. Copy zipped app to the Applications folder
    4. Unzip it into the Apps folder and launch

    Let me know how it goes. 

    Best Regards, 
    Jordan
    Path Finder Support Team 

  6. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 05 Jan, 2018 03:05 PM.

  7. james re-opened this discussion on 09 Jan, 2018 02:33 PM

  8. 4 Posted by james on 09 Jan, 2018 02:33 PM

    james's Avatar

    Jordan
    No difference :(

  9. Support Staff 5 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 09 Jan, 2018 03:56 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi James,

    Could you please provide me with additional details:
    -  Do all the mp3/mp4 files cause this? Or specific ones?  - Is this always reproducible? Or occurs rarely?  - Any additional info could be useful. 

    Looking forward to your reply. 

    Best Regards,
    Jordan
    Path Finder Support Team

  10. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 09 Jan, 2018 03:56 PM.

  11. james re-opened this discussion on 09 Jan, 2018 05:24 PM

  12. 6 Posted by james on 09 Jan, 2018 05:24 PM

    james's Avatar

    Jordan
    Just re-checked my experience.
    PF freezes every time I select an .mp3 or .flac.
    And freezes most of the time with .mp4 files selected.
    Other media such as .avi or .mkv have no preview so are fine.
    It's never been an issue before updating to OSx 10.13.
    James

  13. Support Staff 7 Posted by Path Finder Sup... on 09 Jan, 2018 06:51 PM

    Path Finder Support Team's Avatar

    Hi James,

    Thank you for providing me with additional details. 

    Does restarting PF resolve this? Are you able to preview your files after a restart? 
    How long does it last? Do you use any specific apps that could cause this? 

    I will schedule additional investigation of this issue. 

    Meanwhile, feel free to write us back and we will be happy to assist you.

    Best Regards,
    Jordan
    Path Finder Support Team

  14. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 09 Jan, 2018 06:51 PM.

  15. james re-opened this discussion on 10 Jan, 2018 11:32 AM

  16. 8 Posted by james on 10 Jan, 2018 11:32 AM

    james's Avatar

    Jordan

    PF becomes unresponsive so I quit the app (so not totally unresponsive).
    Restarting PF does not allow the preview to work - it consistently freezes when trying to preview.
    Not sure what other apps would 'cause this'? Finder previews the same files without issue.

    James

  17. Path Finder Support Team closed this discussion on 11 Jan, 2018 09:21 PM.

  18. Path Finder Support Team re-opened this discussion on 11 Jan, 2018 09:21 PM

Reply to this discussion

Internal reply

Formatting help / Preview (switch to plain text) No formatting (switch to Markdown)

Attaching KB article:

»

Attached Files

You can attach files up to 10MB

If you don't have an account yet, we need to confirm you're human and not a machine trying to post spam.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac